Monday, September 15, 2014

~Review and Giveaway: Damaged Goods by Nicole Williams~

The Outsider Chronicles, #2
New Adult/Adult Contemporary
Release: September 9, 2014
Amazon | Barnes and Noble | iBooks

When Liv Bennett said good-bye to her sinkhole of a hometown, she planned to leave that chapter of her life behind forever. But forever turned out to only be three years.

After her addict of a mother up and disappears, Liv returns to what she considers her own personal hell smack in the middle of nowhere Nevada to take care of her two younger sisters, and she promptly reinstitutes the golden rule that got her through her first nineteen years of life without getting knocked up, roughed up, or messed up: don’t date the local boys and, god forbid, don’t fall in love with one of them.

It isn’t long before that golden rule is put to the test.

Will Goods grew up in the next trailer over, but the wild, careless boy who used to tear up the town with his three brothers has morphed into someone else so completely, he’s almost unrecognizable. The quiet, contemplative man who works on cars every night and takes care of his mentally ill mother every day is nothing like the local boys Liv grew up avoiding.

But when Liv considers suspending her golden rule just this once, she finds out something about Will that will change everything.

Will Goods isn’t who he used to be—he’s not even the man Liv thinks she’s gotten to know over the summer. He’s become someone else entirely.
He’s become . . .

Damaged Goods.

Liv Bennett is a 22 year old college student running from her past.  Leaving her hometown that she affectionately calls Death Valley, she is working and putting herself through college in California.  When she gets a disturbing phone call from her younger sister, she only has one option, to return home.  With her drug addicted mother missing, Liv must take over the motherly duties of caring for her two younger sisters.  She is going to make sure that they don't end up like their mother and fall in love with a deadbeat.  Death Valley boys are off limits!

Liv is surprised to find that the Goods' family still lives next door.  She is even more shocked to learn that the handsome and mysterious Will Goods has returned home from the military to take care of his ailing mother. 

With no jobs in this deadbeat town and bills to pay, Liv must take on a job to make some quick cash for her and her sisters, especially after one is found shoplifting necessities.  Liv will do what she must so her sisters won't have to.  What she doesn't expect is her instant attraction to Will Goods.  He is not like she remembered and she finds herself breaking her own rules not to fall for a hometown boy.  But Will is hiding secrets of his own.  Will his secrets tear them apart or bring them closer together?

What an emotional ride.  I enjoyed this book  immensely.  Liv is the tough girl, who has raised herself and never had anyone to depend on.  She drops everything to come back home and take care of her sisters, who have been abandoned.  Will is the bad boy next door, who grew up during his time in the military and now has to take care of his mother.  These two have so much in common even if they don't want to admit to it.  Will is amazing, so sweet, patient and kind.  He evens out Liv's trust issues and helps her to see that not all people are bad.

The surprise for me was Will's secret.  He wasn't exactly hiding it from her, he just didn't volunteer the information.  I was shocked!  I did not see that coming.  

Nicole  Williams is an amazing author and her Outsider Chronicles Series is a smash hit.  I would recommend everyone to read this incredible book and I am impatiently waiting for the next book in this series.

Damaged Goods is the second book in The Outsider Chronicle Series.  It can be read as a stand alone book.

Thank you to the author, Nicole Williams and Atomr Promotions for providing a copy of this book for a fair and honest review. 

About the Author

I’m the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of the CRASH series (HarperTeen, S&S UK), LOST & FOUND series, UP IN FLAMES (S&S UK), The EDEN TRILOGY, and a handful of others. I write stories about everyday kinds of people who find themselves in extraordinary kinds of situations. I tell love stories with happy endings because I believe in making the world a better place, and that’s one tiny way I can make it so. I’m one of those people who still believe in true love and soul mates, and would rather keep my head in the clouds any day over having my feet firmly on the ground.

The author is offering a release giveaway! Visit her Facebook page to enter!

No comments:

Post a Comment